The Age of Innocence
No longer available |Learn more
📖 eBook - ePub

The Age of Innocence

Edith Wharton

Share book
📖 eBook - ePub

The Age of Innocence

Edith Wharton

About This Book

The Age of Innocence - Edith Wharton - The Age of Innocence is a 1920 novel by American author Edith Wharton. It was her twelfth novel, and was initially serialized in 1920 in four parts, in the magazine Pictorial Review. Later that year, it was released as a book by D. Appleton & Company.It won the 1921 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, making Wharton the first woman to win the prize. Though the committee had initially agreed to give the award to Sinclair Lewis for Main Street, the judges, in rejecting his book on political grounds, "established Wharton as the American 'First Lady of Letters'". The story is set in the 1870s, in upper-class, "Gilded Age" New York City. Wharton wrote the book in her 50s, after she had established herself as a strong author, with publishers clamoring for her work.

Access to over 1 million titles for a fair monthly price.

Study more efficiently using our study tools.



Table of contents

Citation styles for The Age of InnocenceHow to cite The Age of Innocence for your reference list or bibliography: select your referencing style from the list below and hit 'copy' to generate a citation. If your style isn't in the list, you can start a free trial to access over 20 additional styles from the Perlego eReader.
APA 6 Citation
Wharton, E. (2022). The Age of Innocence (1st ed.). tredition. Retrieved from (Original work published 2022)
Chicago Citation
Wharton, Edith. (2022) 2022. The Age of Innocence. 1st ed. tredition.
Harvard Citation
Wharton, E. (2022) The Age of Innocence. 1st edn. tredition. Available at: (Accessed: 28 March 2023).
MLA 7 Citation
Wharton, Edith. The Age of Innocence. 1st ed. tredition, 2022. Web. 28 Mar. 2023.